DIY: Washi Tape Keyboard

Even though I understand why the white MacBooks are no longer being sold, it still makes me sad. It’s even sadder when I see things like this on pinterest and know that it won’t be possible much longer. So I decided to take action before my computer died and I had no other chance.

I bought some spools of washi tape from le box boutique on etsy and set about making my own beautiful keyboard. The first step (after turning off my computer) was to clean my keyboard. I used a cotton swab and isopropyl alcohol. Look how nasty that cotton swab was!

Then I started adhering my tape. I chose to use different designs for my smaller keys than my regular keys. This was just what I decided (since I had some skinnier patterns I loved), but obviously you can do it however you like.

After looking at the pinterest pictures, I assumed the keys were the same size as the tape (that would be too easy, wouldn’t it). In reality, There was a lot of trimming. But, in my opinion, it was all worth it. Here’s the before and after.

What do you think? I love it! David couldn’t care less about it. But that’s a boy for you. I’ve had the keyboard taped for a full day and have had no problems with it so far. The tape has stayed and I haven’t had any issues with it peeling. You can see through the tape just enough, and I’m fairly familiar with a keyboard at this point in my life, so I don’t mind that you can’t perfectly see all the keys. Would you do this to your keyboard if you had the chance?