Routine

David and I were in a really nice routine this summer. I was opening the Y regularly, we were going to be at a consistent time every night, exceed icing pretty regularly, we were even in a pretty good habit of eating at home every night. Then, life happened. We went on one week long vacation that threw us out of whack. As soon as you think you’ve got it back someone gets sick, then a long weekend, then akin schedules change. It feels like we’ve been working ever since that trip to get that feeling if consistency back.

One thing that has helped is that I’m opening the Y two days a week again. Don’t get me wrong, I do not particularly enjoy waking up at 4:30 or going to bed before 10:00, but it helps keep our lives consistent while bringing in a little extra money.

But I think the main thing that’s helping us get back into a routine is I have tried to start meal planning. It’s nothing elaborate right now. I bought a weekly calendar on sale at Target and have planned breakfast, lunch, and snacks every day. We’ve done our grocery shopping in Sunday and have packaged snacks up that afternoon. I’m trying to plan dinner as well, but it’s a little harder. I’m working on a master meal list of things we like to eat and like to make. Once I get that established it will be much easier to fill in the dinner blanks with this meals. For now, we’re winging dinners with those $6 chickens they dell at the grocery store, some frozen hamburgers we have, stir fry with leftovers, and some of the deer meat from this past season.

20130226-071549.jpg

Any tips or meal planning advice is always welcome here! A few of the blogs I read have been talking about it lately, and hopefully once I get our system down I’ll be able to share some of our tips with you!

