DIY: Autumn Wreath

Since tomorrow is Halloween, I thought I’d post my pinterest project a day early.

I told you I was interested in making a wreath, and I was. I found an old grapevine wreath at my Mom’s and stripped it down to its basics.

Then I spent the rest of my time wondering what to put on it. I thought I’d find something wandering around the woods at my parents house (nope), or maybe at Pier 1 (nope). So by last night I was pretty disappointed. I told David I wanted something real (or at least that looked real), that had berries and pretty colors. “Like that bush over there.” He told me to use leaves and berries off the bush. So that’s what I did.

At first I was afraid people would notice if I cut the bush up, but then I realized it was many plants entangled, and my wreath wasn’t even that big. These are some of the beauties I was working with.

Honestly, all I did was weave and wrap. First I used two or three pieces of ivy-ish stuff to green the wreath up a little. Then I used some of the green/red leaves (Can you tell I’m a real horticulture enthusiast?) to fill in the gaps. Lastly I bunched some of those adorable little berries in the bottom right.

Sorry for the dark picture. I finished after dark but I was so excited I couldn’t wait to take a picture. What do you think? David seemed genuinely impressed and I’m certainly happy with it.

I’m excited to see what everyone else has done for the pinterest challenge.

[EDIT] I thought I was early, but apparently I misread when the challenge was over. Click on over to see Young House Love and Bower Power‘s awesome pinterest projects!

