Fun Fact

Contact lenses can be worn as bandages.

Yesterday morning I got up at 4:30 to open the YMCA. Somewhere in between getting out of bed and walking to the bathroom, I scratched my eye. No big deal, right? Wrong. Ow. I stood in my bathroom for 10 minutes trying to figure out how lame it would sound when I called the Y to tell them I wasn’t going to make it because I couldn’t open my eye… Lame.

Somehow I made it to work. And somehow I made it to my second job. But things went downhill quickly and to the optometrist I went. The nurse asked my how bad the pain was on a scale of 1 to 10. “6? 7? 8?” I said. I overheard her tell the Dr. while I was waiting. “If it was 8 out of 10 she’d be on the floor screaming.” he said. I was guys. That morning.

When the Dr. finally looked at my eye he said, “Wow. That’s a big scratch.” Thanks.

So, I have a contact lens bandage, antibiotics, and a follow up appointment for tomorrow. I also have blurry vision for the first time in my life. But I did get the chance to see a tree this morning that was orange. Last week it was mostly green. Hurry, winter.

Moral of the story? Don’t scratch your eye. It hurts.

