Book Review: Before I Fall

Since I don’t think anyone but Caroline is actually reading along at the same speed I am, I’m going to go ahead and post my review of Before I Fall. I also have decided to “review-ish” each book I read so that you all know which ones I recommend and which ones I don’t.

For me, Before I Fall was a very intense and anxious read. I have never seen Groundhog Day, but once I told David what the book was about, he told me it sounded incredibly similar. Then, as I kept reading, we decided the book sounded even more like Donnie Darko. I have not done my research (bad, blogger, bad), so I’m unsure whether or not Oliver did this on purpose.

The story was indeed about a girl, Sam, who lived the day of her death 7 days in a row. From a social work perspective, I really enjoyed reading through all of the emotions and experiences Sam went through in those 7 days. I was intrigued by the revelations she had, although I wasn’t surprised with the end of the story. For spoilers, check below the jump.

The only issue I had with the book is that I have a hard time believing the final day is the actual day of her death. It makes more sense to me that the first day is the actual day of her death, and the subsequent days are the instant before she actually dies. I think it’s just wishful thinking (on her part and ours) that she is actually able to live the best possible day before she dies.

Sad, I know, but true. What did you think? Join us at the Young(ish) Adult Book Club on July 14 to discuss!

