Doc Watson

The very first cassette tape I remember listening to was Doc Watson Sings Songs for Little Pickers. I listened to this tape over and over and over again in my mom’s old blue Mercedes and my dad’s old white Jetta, along with Will The Circle Be Unbroken and multiple Nashville Bluegrass Band and Nitty Gritty Dirt Band tapes. I memorized every word of every song Doc Watson sang. Here is just a little taste of his amazing talent (Doc starts talking around the 1:40 mark and playing around 3:30).

I had the pleasure of seeing Doc Watson in concert in Todd, NC when I was 20 years old. My father introduced me to Doc before the concert and I got to shake his hand.

When I was 21 years old, Doc Watson came into the restaurant where I was working in Boone, NC. I begged for his table and was giving the honor of waiting on him that day.

Doc Watson died yesterday. He was a huge part of my childhood and he was an outstanding musician. RIP Doc Watson. And the green grass grew all around, all around. The green grass grew all around.

