Book Review: The Westing Game

Well, this book took us all a little longer to read than we predicted. Although it was a short book, apparently it was a busy month for those of us reading. Once I finally sat down and read the book however, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Check out Caroline’s review here (spoilers).

I don’t want to give away the Westing heir, so I’ll just hit a few main points. I thought the book was very fun! It was also very light, even with the murder and the bombs. It’s interesting that this book is Young Adult, just like Going Bovine with all its cursing and Looking for Alaska with its sex and cigarettes. I feel like, after those books, anyone could read this!

Another reason I enjoyed reading the book was because I kept thinking I had things figured out, and then it would all change right under my nose! It was fun following along with all the characters and thinking I knew more than them. It honestly turned out that I figured things out just seconds before the winner. Blast! I prefer to be smarter than the characters in the books I read, but I guess it’s fun to be stumped sometimes too.

What did you think of The Westing Game?

