Favorite Books

Since this week is apparently book week here on the blog, I thought I’d go ahead and list a few of my favorite books.

I decided it would be unfair to list the Harry Potter series as a whole since they are seven different books, so I’ll go with my favorite Harry Potter book:

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is my favorite HP book, barely eking out Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. In The Half-Blood Prince, Harry is my favorite age, there is more Ginny (my favorite character), and I feel like it’s that point in the series where everything peaks, and it just explodes from here on out.

Another favorite book of mine is The Time Traveler’s Wife.

This is one of the saddest and most beautiful books I’ve ever read. Since they made a movie of it, I think more people are familiar with the story than were when I discovered it, but I’ll give you a quick synopsis just in case. This is the story of a man who (because of his DNA) involuntarily time travels. When Henry meets Clare, he is 28 and she is 20. However, Clare has known Henry since the age of six. It is an outstanding love story.

Another of my favorite books is Perelandra.

Perelandra is the second book in C.S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy. This book is amazing, odd, and poignant. One of my absolute favorite quotes comes from this book. “Pure, spiritual, intellectual love shot from their faces like barbed lightning. It was so unlike the love we experience that its expression could easily be mistaken for ferocity.”

(I copied that quote from my Facebook timeline and realized that the three book quotes I have there are from these three books I’ve just listed.)

This next book I would call more intriguing than anything else. I devoured it when I read it, instantly fell in love, and haven’t touched it since. It’s Up High In The Trees.

This book was written from the perspective of an eight year old boy, and is about how he and his family deal with and grieve over the death of his mother.

I’ll end with another incredibly popular book. The Hunger Games.

I decided to read The Hunger Games because I had read and loved Suzanne Collins’ Underland Chronicles, and as a series, I would say I definitely like them more than The Hunger Games Series. But I loved this book. I’m anxiously awaiting the film adaptation (I’m not sure why since they never ever ever live up to the books) and I would recommend this book to anyone.

What are some of your favorite books? Have you read any of these? Is it nearly impossible for you to chose a favorite Harry Potter book?Does anyone want me to try to convince David to tell us what his favorite books are?

