12 Dates of Christmas: On Our First Date of Christmas

David has a new job and our schedules now look like this most days:

David works 6am – 2pm Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday
Catherine works 12pm – 5pm Monday through Friday
David (sometimes) works 1pm – 5pm
David works 5pm – 10pm Monday through Friday

As much as this is the absolute worst first-year-married work schedule we could possibly imagine, it’s really helping us out financially (obviously) and it’s what we have to do right now. I read on Rockstar Diaries that she and her husband are doing a “12 Dates of Christmas” series as this is their first year (I think) with a baby. (She got the idea from her friend Marci.) I thought this would be a great idea for David and I this year, since in this hectic month of December, we are rarely seeing each other. Hopefully this will encourage us to get off of the sofa for the few hours we see each other a day. Somehow, I convinced David that this was a good idea (he’s only a grump sometimes) and we were off!

December 1 was a Thursday and David had the morning off. We needed to go grocery shopping (not really date-like) so we it together and snuck in a little lunch at North Hills to make it official. I don’t have any pictures of our first date of Christmas, but I’ll try to snap some on our next date.

I think this is a great idea for Christmas and everyone should give it a try (especially all my newlywed friends)! Let me know if you decide to try it out!

