The Oil-Cleansing Method

Boys – you’re probably going to want to skip this post.

Recently I saw a DIY face wash idea on Pinterest. I have very oily skin and dealt with acne regularly as a teenager. Since then, my skin has mostly cleared up, but I am not one of those people who can skip washing their face. In fact, sometimes I have to wash my face twice a day. I have bounced back and forth with whatever “for oily skin” cleansers I can find on sale at Target, so when I saw the “make your own” face wash, I thought I’d give it a try.

Oddly enough, this cleanser is made from castor oil and extra virgin olive oil. Apparently oil is not what makes your skin oily (or so I read) and combining these two oils in a cleanser can really clean and soften up your face. I’ll let you read the article for the why’s and how’s.

 

These are the four easy steps:

1. Combine castor oil and extra virgin olive oil in a small bottle. Use a one-to-one ratio for normal skin, a three-part castor oil and one-part extra virgin olive oil for oily skin, and a one-part castor oil and a three-part extra virgin olive oil for dry skin.

2. Pour some (the size of a quarter) in your hand and gently massage into your face for about one minute.

3. Put a hot washcloth over your face (to steam out your pores) until it is room temperature. Don’t drown or suffocate during this part (is that only me? I don’t normally use washcloths…).

4. Rinse out the washcloth and gently wipe your face until the oil is gone.

 

My face feels very clean and soft and not oily at all! I’ve only tried this once, but I plan to keep it up. I’ll let you know in a week or so if it’s still working great or if I feel like it’s making my face worse!

Does anyone else use homemade face wash or homemade anything in their beauty routine?

