Harry Potter (Spoiler?)

This was the perfect theater to see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 1 for the first time. I’ve loved this theater for a long time because of the shimmery curtain, and it was very Harry Potter-esque at midnight!


I thoroughly enjoyed the movie and I think David did too. There were a few times we laughed and no one else did (probably because it was a reference to the books in some way). I was very happy with the way the movie turned out. One of the biggest issues I had was that they didn’t show the relationship the three built with Kreecher. There was never a, “thanks, Kreecher. Have the fake locket.” and there was no indication that Kreecher had prepared a giant meal for them to eat when they got back from the Ministry (also didn’t love the Ministry scene, but it was pretty good). I would have loved a shot back to Kreecher happily preparing their meal while Ron lie bleeding on the ground. 
The other big “leave out” was Phineas Nigellus’s picture. This was vital to the story line. Because they took Phineas’ picture frame from 12 Grimauld Place, Snape (the current headmaster of Hogwarts) had a direct link to the trio. This allowed him to send the doe after them when Phineas overheard Hermione say that they were in the Forest of Dean… I’m just curious how they’re going to explain that in part 2.


Overall I was very excited about the movie. I think it’s safe to say it was my favorite so far (if it weren’t for the last 20 minutes of Half-Blood Prince… Oh, that reminds me. How sad were you when Bill introduced himself to Harry for the first time and was like, “Oh yeah. My face. Darn warewolf…” He deserved so much more) and I know it’s safe to say I’m definitely looking forward to part 2.


P.S. David says this movie might have appealed more to the book fans than the movie fans (and this might be the first one to do that). Movie fans have noted it was slow and boring, but the book fans actually had something to hold on to this time. There was more accuracy than normal. Just a thought.

